National Theatre

National Theatre, London

Venue Information

Also see:
NT: Olivier Theatre
NT: Lyttelton Theatre
NT: Dorfman Theatre

The National Theatre
Address: Upper Ground, London, SE1 9PX, United Kingdom
Nearest underground or train station: Waterloo (Jubilee line, Northern line, Bakerloo line)
Nearest buses: 1, 4, 26, 59, 68, 76, 139, 168, 171, 172, 176, 188, 243, 341, 521, X68, RV1

The National Theatre Directions

Google Map
Google Directions
Apple Map

What's on at the The National Theatre?

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get to the The National Theatre?
Public transport is recommended to travel to the The National Theatre.  The nearest underground or train stations are Waterloo (Jubilee line, Northern line, Bakerloo line). If arriving by bus, then the nearest bus lines are 1, 4, 26, 59, 68, 76, 139, 168, 171, 172, 176, 188, 243, 341, 521, X68, RV1 .  For directions to the The National Theatre see our Google Maps directions or Apple Maps directions
Is there a dress code at the The National Theatre?
There is no specific dress code at the The National Theatre, with most people just wearing their everyday clothes.
Does the The National Theatre have air conditioning or air cooling?
Yes, the The National Theatre has an Air Conditioning system.
What is the Accessibility at the The National Theatre?
The National Theatre accessibility information
Access phone number: 020 7452 3000
Access email address: /
Accessible toilets situated: Foyers - 9, including Understudy Bar
Number of Wheelchair spaces: Stalls (x5 in Olivier, x4 in Lyttelton, x2 in Dorfman)
Sound amplification: Induction Loop in Olivier and Lyttelton, Sennheiser Infrared in Olivier, Lyttelton and Dorfman
Access from street to foyer: Level access
Access from theatre foyer to seats (number = stairs): 1 to back of Olivier, 0 to back of Lyttelton and Dorfman, All have steps leading down towards the front
Level access: Lyttelton and Dorfman
Stair lift, lift or ramp available: Lifts to all levels

The National Theatre Facts

What date did the The National Theatre open?

22 October 1963

Who designed the The National Theatre?

Sir Denys Lasdun and Peter Softley

What was the first production at the The National Theatre?


The National Theatre News

More >

Theatre History

The National Theatre was officially opened by Her Majesty The Queen on 25 October 1976.

The complex of theatres that make up the National Theatre consists of three main stages: The Olivier Theatre, the Lyttelton Theatre, and the Dorfman Theatre.

The National Theatre company was founded by Laurence Olivier in 1963, and until 1977 was based at The Old Vic theatre. It then moved to its permanent new home on the Southbank.

The current building complex on the Southbank is Grade II listed, and was designed by architects Sir Denys Lasdun and Peter Softley and structural engineers Flint & Neill.

📷 Main photo: National Theatre

All London Theatres

More >

West End Shows

More >