West End Theatre.com - London Theatre Online

Evening Standard Theatre Awards – Winners 2011


57th Awards announced: Savoy Hotel, 20 November 2011

Best Night Out - Wicked (Apollo Victoria Theatre)

Best Actor - (Joint) Benedict Cumberbatch – Frankenstein (National’s Olivier) and Jonny Lee Miller – Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)

The Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress - Sheridan Smith – Flare Path (Theatre Royal Haymarket)

Best Play - (Joint) The Heretic By Richard Bean (Royal Court) and One Man, Two Guvnors By Richard Bean (National’s Lyttelton)

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical - Matilda The Musical (RSC Stratford and Cambridge Theatre)

Best Director - Mike Leigh, Grief (National’s Cottesloe)

Best Design - Adam Cork For his sound design of Anna Christie & King Lear (Donmar Warehouse)

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright - Penelope Skinner For The Village Bike (Royal Court)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer - Kyle Soller For his performances in The Glass Menagerie (Young Vic) & Government Inspector (Young Vic) & The Faith Machine (Royal Court)

Editor’s Award - Michael Grandage for making the Donmar Warehouse a star

Beyond Theatre award - Pet Shop Boys and Javier de Frutos For The Most Incredible Thing (Sadler’s Wells)

The Lebedev Special Award - Kristin Scott Thomas For her contribution to theatre

The Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull - Tom Stoppard for his contribution to Russian theatre and the international stage

Article by     [Google+]

21 November 2011

Tags: ,


Post your comments here

  • UK
  • Danmark
  • Nederland
  • Portugues
  • France
  • Deutschland
  • Italia
  • Norge
  • Sverige
  • Espana
Facebook Twitter YouTube Pinterest